And the countdown begins! Gift ideas for book lovers of all kinds…

Holiday Book Recommendations

Need some gift ideas? Take a load off. Toss back an eggnog. Backbeat’s got you covered…

For the book lovers out there, we recommend the following:

– For the Autobiography/Memoir/Humour fan:

  • “Not That Kind of Girl” by Lena Dunham
  • “Yes Please” by Amy Poehler
    In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real-life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious.

– For the (Canadian) Fiction fan:

  • “Adult Onset” by Ann-Marie MacDonald (*signed copies available)
    From the acclaimed, bestselling author of two beloved classics, Adult Onset is a powerful drama about motherhood, the dark undercurrents that break and hold families together, and the power and pressures of love.
  • “All My Puny Sorrows” by Miriam Toews
    All My Puny Sorrows, at once tender and unquiet, offers a profound reflection on the limits of love, and the sometimes unimaginable challenges we experience when childhood becomes a new country of adult commitments and responsibilities.

– For the Non-Fiction fan:

  • “You Are Here: Around the World in 92 Minutes” by Chris Hadfield
    In You Are Here, Chris Hadfield creates a surprisingly intimate and compelling visual essay about the planet we live on, choosing the best from the thousands of photos he took on the International Space Station.
  • “Hockey Confidential” by Bob McKenzie
    Bob McKenzie goes behind the scenes, covering the inside stories, the lesser-known personalities and the events that shape Canada’s game. Entertaining and insightful, Hockey Confidential is a must for every hockey fan.

– For the Mystery/Thriller/Horror fan:

  • “The Axeman’s Jazz” by Ray Celestin
    New Orleans, 1919. As a dark serial killer – The Axeman – stalks the city, three individuals set out to unmask him…
  • “Revival” by Stephen King
    A dark and electrifying novel about addiction, fanaticism, and what might exist on the other side of life. This rich and disturbing novel spans five decades on its way to the most terrifying conclusion Stephen King has ever written.

– For the YA/Gamer fan:

  • “I’ll Give You the Sun” by Jandy Nelson
    A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell. This radiant novel will leave you breathless and teary and laughing – often all at once.
  • “Endgame: The Calling” by James Frey & Nils Johnson-Shelton
    Just as it tells the story of the hunt for a hidden key, written into the book is a puzzle. It invites readers to play their own Endgame and to try to solve the puzzle. Whoever does will open a case filled with gold. Alongside the puzzle will be a revolutionary mobile game built by Google’s Niantic Labs that will allow you to play a real-world version of Endgame where you can join one of the lines and do battle with people around you.
  • “Minecraft: The Complete Handbook Collection” by Scholastic Inc.
    Minecraft’s four bestselling handbooks are available in this stunning, gold-foiled boxed set! Includes the Essential Handbook, Redstone Handbook, Combat Handbook and Construction Handbook. (Please note that we also carry all of the individual books as well).

– For Young Children:

  • “Mix It Up!” by Herve Tullet (*signed copies available)
    Follow the artist’s simple instructions, and suddenly colours appear, mix, splatter and vanish in a world powered only by the reader’s imagination. Tullet sets readers on an extraordinary interactive journey all within the printed page.
  • “Adventures With Barefoot Critters” by Teagan White
    Join an adorable cast of animal characters as they explore the alphabet through the seasons. The friends make the most of each season both enjoying the great outdoors and staying snug inside.

– For the Cooking fan:

  • “Thug Kitchen: The Official Cookbook” by Thug Kitchen
    Thug Kitchen wants to inspire people to eat some goddamn vegetables, adopt a healthier lifestyle, show everyone how to take charge of their plates and cook up some real f*cking food.
  • “Jamie’s Comfort Food” by Jamie Oliver
    A classic in the making, Jamie’s Comfort Food is packed with recipes for timeless dishes that warm the heart, each accompanied by a beautiful full-colour photo. With its soul-satisfying recipes it is the perfect book for any home cook.

We hope this helps! And, of course, if we don’t have a particular book that you’re looking for already in our shop, we’re always more than happy to place a special order…in that case, we always give you 20% off your book. (It’s our year-round standard policy.) Just remember to get your orders in early, please, so that we can get them here in time!

Recent Posts

Join us on Facebook