New vinyl releases plus more specially priced new vinyl

Finally a few new releases to feature for 2015. A really decent trio of albums to kick off the new year of music, looks like Sleater-Kinney is leading all the reviews but I’ve been really liking all 3 so far. We also received a handful (I guess mitten full this time of year) of specially priced albums to add to that crate which you good people seem to have been really digging into lately. It’s been a busy few days here so we will be doing a used vinyl restock post tomorrow to update you all on the new vintage vinyl hitting the bins, so stay tuned for that. For now, on to the new vinyl.

New Releases Jan21

Sleater-Kinney – No Cities to Love

The new record is the first in 10 years from the acclaimed trio–Brownstein, vocalist/guitarist Corin Tucker, and drummer Janet Weiss–who came crashing out of the ’90s Pacific Northwest riot grrrl scene, setting a new bar for punk’s political insight and emotional impact. Formed in Olympia, WA in 1994, Sleater-Kinney were hailed as “America’s best rock band” by Greil Marcus in Time Magazine, and put out seven searing albums in 10 years before going on indefinite hiatus in 2006.

But the new album isn’t about reminiscing, it’s about reinvention–the ignition of an unparalleled chemistry to create new sounds and tell new stories. “I always considered Corin and Carrie to be musical soulmates in the tradition of the greats,” says Weiss, whose drums fuel the fire of Tucker and Brownstein’s vocal and guitar interplay. “Something about taking a break brought them closer, desperate to reach together again for their true expression.” The result is a record that grapples with love, power and redemption without restraint. “The three of us want the same thing,” says Weiss. “We want the songs to be daunting.”


Panda Bear – Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper

Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper, the fifth studio album from Animal Collective founding member and critically acclaimed solo artist Noah Lennox, a.k.a. Panda Bear is out now.
Check out The brand new immersive interactive album preview website, featuring an original soundtrack by Panda Bear and Sonic Boom, videos by Danny Perez and graphics by Marco Papiro, Patakk and Hugo Oliveira and other Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper curiosities.


Belle and Sebastian – Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance

“Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance” is Belle & Sebastian’s long-awaited follow-up to 2010’s “Write About Love”. Produced and mixed at Maze Studios in Atlanta by Ben H. Allen III, best known for his work with Gnarls Barkley, Animal Collective, and Raury, among others, the band – who have been listening to things like vintage Detroit techno and Giorgio Moroder – have brought a dance-party element into their gorgeous tales of sensitive souls navigating a world gone awry. It is perhaps the most inspired and wide-reaching album Belle and Sebastian have ever made. “Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance” is also their most sonically diverse album: there’s the klezmer chorus on stand-out track ‘The Everlasting Muse’, radio anthem ‘The Party Line’ with its Chic guitar and filtered-house intro, and the squelchy synth break on ‘The Book Of You’. It ends with the bleached-out, solarized beauty of ‘Today (This Army’s For Peace)’, with a woozy 1968 feel, somewhere between the Monkees’ ‘As We Go Along’ and Robert Wyatt: “Come out into the light, today.”


Just added these fine records to the specially priced crate.

CYPRESS HILL & RUSKO  – CYPRESS HILL X RUSKO – Regular Price $14.95 –  Special Price $8.95
DJ KRUSH  – JAKU 10TH ANN. – Regular Price $38.95 –  Special Price $20.95
IMOGEN HEAP – SPARKS – Regular Price $26.95 –  Special Price $14.95
PHANTOM BAND – STRANGE FRIEND – Regular Price $18.95 –  Special Price $9.95
SETH WALKER – SKY STILL BLUE – Regular Price $18.95 –  Special Price $9.95

Specially Priced Jan21

That’s all for now. Stay cool.