New releases and reissues out today!

Hey, it’s Friday so we’ve got some new releases to feature this week. The latest albums from Bahamas, Godflesh and Of Mice & Men have arrived plus the debut solo album from H.C. McEntire. We’ve also some great reissues hitting the shelves today. After a limited run picture disc for Record Store Day last year, the Blade Runner soundtrack is here finally as a standard release. Also in are limited edition reissues of a couple Dio albums that many of you have been waiting for.

There’s a small list of restocks and additions to our new record selection here at Backbeat at the bottom of this post.

Let’s dig into the new releases!

New Releases - Jan 19 2018

Bahamas – EarthtonesBahamas – Earthtones
Afie Jurvanen isn’t from the Bahamas. He’s a Finnish-Canadian from Barrie–a working class town in rural Ontario. But his chosen epithet is fitting. Since 2009 he’s been making music under the name Bahamas–writing songs about sunsets, love affairs, and making out with crooked smiles. Through simple arrangements, he charts an escape route from the snow belt to the coral reefs.


Godflesh - Post SelfGodflesh – Post Self
Over 2 years in the making, ‘Post Self’ explores the less ‘metal’ side of Godflesh; taking in the formative influences, and spitting out something more informed by late 70’s early 80’s post punk and industrial than it is anything metal related. Thematically personal and obsessive, exploring anxiety, depression, fear, mortality, and relationships.


H.C. McEntire – LionheartH.C. McEntire – Lionheart – Indie-Exclusive White Vinyl edition
H.C. McEntire, frontwoman of Mount Moriah & Bellafea, strikes out on her own with her debut solo album Lionheart, a collection of songs inspired by the American South and a desire to reclaim “country” music from the heteronormative, homogenous schtick of tailgates and six-packs and men chasing women. Stereogum describes her voice as “weary, wise, and bright as morning sunshine all at once,” and that sunshine glows throughout the triumphant Lionheart. For the album, McEntire collaborated with many of her favorite musicians, including Kathleen Hanna, Angel Olsen, Amy Ray, Daniel Hart, Tift Merritt, William Tyler, and Phil Cook, while remaining bravely devoted to her most authentic self throughout the process. Lionheart was recorded during the first few months of 2017 with additional recording and mixing taking place on the run as McEntire toured the world as a member of Angel Olsen’s band. “I learned a great deal about who I am and how to trust myself while making this record,” muses McEntire. “In general, the songs feel more country to me, in a sincere way. There’s gospel. There’s more pop. There’s no hiding.”


Of Mice & Men – DefyOf Mice & Men – Defy
With four full-length albums under their belts, Of Mice & Men are ready to present “Defy.” Returning to legendary producer, Howard Benson (My Chemical Romance, Papa Roach, P.O.D.), “Defy” delivers a new era of Of Mice & Men. These songs are fast, heavy and undoubtedly the band’s strongest work to date. This album is sure to exceed the expectations of existing fans, while also drawing in excited new listeners. The band will be supporting this release with a US headlining tour in February and March. If you thought you knew Of Mice & Men before, think again. They’re back full throttle and there is no stopping them. Get ready for “Defy.”


Featured Re-issues

New Reissues - Jan 19 2018
Eno, Brian – Here Come The Warm Jets
Vangelis – Blade Runner Soundtrack
Dio – Holy Diver (Remastered Red Vinyl)
Dio – Last In Line (Remastered Blue Vinyl)

Restocks and Additions
Beastie Boys – Solid Gold Hits
Coldplay – Parachutes
Del Rey, Lana – Born To Die
Funkadelic – Maggot Brain
Gaye, Marvin – Whats Going On
Gnarls Barkley – St. Elsewhere
Muse – Black Holes And Revelations
Notorious B.I.G – Ready To Die
Outkast – Stankonia
Pierce The Veil – Misadventures
Pop, Iggy – Lust For Life
Rage Against The Machine – Rage Against The Machine
Red Hot Chili Peppers – Blood Sugar Sex Magik
Red Hot Chili Peppers – Greatest Hits
Soundtrack – Blade Runner 2049
Tragically Hip – Up To Here
West, Kanye – College Dropout