NEW Dawes album now here, Fear of a Blank Planet reissue, plus a huge load of jazz and blues.

So many great releases have been coming in lately and today (a few days late) the new Dawes album “We’re All Gonna Die” has arrived. Porcupine Tree‘s brilliant album “Fear of a Blank Planet” has finally been reissued and is in stock now. Check out all the details below.

We also received a huge load of jazz and blues reissues in today’s delivery. Some titles we’ve always stocked but we have also added lots of new titles to the rotation here at Backbeat.

jazz-and-blues-reissuesHere’s what is pictured above:

Cannonball Adderley – Somethin Else
Louis Armstrong/Oscar Peterson – Louis Armstrong Meets Oscar Peterson
Booker T. And The Mgs – Green Onions
James Brown – Please Please Please
Dave Brubeck – Time Out
John Coltrane – Coltrane
John Coltrane – Coltrane Plays The Blues
John Coltrane – Giant Steps
John Coltrane – Lush Life
Miles Davis – Birth Of The Cool
Miles Davis – Kind Of Blue
Miles Davis – Milestones
Duke Ellington/John Coltrane – Ellington And Coltrane
Ella Fitzgerald – Ella In Berlin
Billie Holiday – Body And Soul
Billie Holiday – Lady In Satin
Billie Holiday – Velvet Mood
John Lee Hooker – Folk Blues
John Lee Hooker – House Of The Blues
John Lee Hooker – Thats My Story
John Lee Hooker – Travelin
Elmore James – Definitive
Etta James – At Last
B.B. King – King Of The Blues
Hank Mobley – Workout
Thelonious Monk – Brilliant Corners
Thelonious Monk – Monks Music
Thelonious Monk – Plays The Music Of Ellington
Thelonious Monk – W/John Coltrane
Wes Montgomery – Full House
Charlie Parker – Jazz At Massey Hall
Duke Pearson – Hush!
Oscar Trio Peterson – Night Train
Nina Simone – At Town Hall
Nina Simone – Little Girl Blue
Nina Simone – Sings Ellington!
Sarah Vaughan/Clifford Brown – Sarah Vaughan W/Clifford Brown
Muddy Waters – I Got My Brand On You


On to the new stuff!



Dawes – We’re All Gonna Die

The California band Dawes has released several albums of breezy Golden State guitar rock centered on Taylor Goldsmith’s emotionally loaded songs. Those songs are filled with statements that are irresistibly uplifting when heard in a crowd. (Think “anyone that’s making anything new only breaks something else” from “When My Time Comes.”)
Dawes‘ fifth album has the true – but still unsettling – title We’re All Gonna Die. It represents a change in sound courtesy of producer Blake Mills, who recently got kudos for producing Alabama Shakes’ latest album, Sound & Color, and who was also Goldsmith’s high-school band mate. More touches of keyboards and more space are part of the band’s new approach. (From NPR.ORG)


Porcupine Tree – Fear of a Blank Planet (2007)

Porcupine Tree, renowned in rock music for their dense, cinematic albums, have completed their best and boldest work to date: Fear of a Blank Planet. The frenetic, finger-picked opening guitar riff delivers listeners into a 51- minute masterpiece of a record, modeled, in lead singer Steven Wilson’s words, “on those great old LP albums of the 70s.” It’s a starkly beautiful elegy on the numbness, apathy, and isolation brought about by the constant barrage of television, video games, advertising, prescription drugs, sex, and violence we face every day. The character in the title track muses that “In school I don’t concentrate/ And sex is kinda fun/ But just another one/ Of all the empty ways/ Of using up a day.” The six songs blend seamlessly one into the next, a symphonic arrangement of metal guitars, synthesizers, strings, fat basslines, and Gavin Harrison’s virtuosic drumming. Wilson’s earnest vocals alternate floating high above the instruments and ripping right into the heart of each track. Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson contributes a guitar solo on “Anesthetize,” while Robert Fripp (of King Crimson) provides the soundscapes on “Way Out of Here.”


That’s it for today, see you soon!






“jazz hands”